ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, Schedule, Fixtures

ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, Schedule, Fixtures

Bill Belew has raised 2 bi-cultural kids, now 34 and 30. And he and his wife are now parenting a 3rd, Mia, who is 8.

cricket-wilby
Cricket

The ICC has announced the schedule for the 2011 World Cup of Cricket. This tournament will be played in the Indian sub-continent, with India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh as the hosts. Pakistan was also one of the co-hosts in the tournament but were opted out due to the security concerns in the country. India will play the first game of the tournament against Bangladesh in Dhaka.

Click for Live Score

The format of the tournament is quite different from the previous World Cup that was played in West Indies. In this edition, there are 14 teams in the tournament and they have been divided into two groups of seven sides each. The seven teams in each group will play a round-robin and the top four sides from each group will qualify for the next round.

Watch Live Streaming.

The eight teams will then play a knock-out round of quarter-finals, which will then be followed by the semi-finals and the finals.
In the previous World Cup in the Caribbean, there was 16 sides divided into four groups of four teams each. The top two sides from each group then qualified for the next round, making it eight teams which fought in another round-robin, before the top four qualified for the semi-finals.

The two groups are as follows; the first group has India, West Indies, England, South Africa, Netherlands, Ireland and Bangladesh. The second group consists of Pakistan, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, Canada, Kenya and Zimbabwe.

In the previous World Cup there were 16 sides but the BCCI put its foot down and allowed the participation of only 14 teams this time around. The reason for that is that they felt that the more the non-test playing nations, the more are the chances of redundant games, and that would have made the tournament more boring. The previous tournament in the West Indies came in for a lot of criticism.

Had there been 16 teams for the tournament this time around, Afghanistan and Scotland (5th and 6th in the qualifiers) would have qualified for the tournament.

Sat Feb 19 1st match – India v Bangladesh
Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur
N/A
Sun Feb 20 3rd match – Sri Lanka v Canada (Hambantota)
Venue TBC
N/A
Sun Feb 20 2nd match – Kenya v New Zealand
MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai
N/A
Mon Feb 21 4th match – Australia v Zimbabwe
Sardar Patel Stadium, Motera, Ahmedabad
N/A
Tue Feb 22 5th match – England v Netherlands
Vidarbha Cricket Association Ground, Nagpur
N/A
Wed Feb 23 6th match – Kenya v Pakistan (Hambantota)
Venue TBC
N/A
Thu Feb 24 7th match – South Africa v West Indies
Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi
N/A
Fri Feb 25 9th match – Bangladesh v Ireland
Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur
N/A
Fri Feb 25 8th match – Australia v New Zealand
Vidarbha Cricket Association Ground, Nagpur
N/A
Sat Feb 26 10th match – Pakistan v Sri Lanka
R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
N/A
Sun Feb 27 11th match – India v England
Eden Gardens, Kolkata
N/A
Mon Feb 28 12th match – Netherlands v West Indies
Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi
N/A
Mon Feb 28 13th match – Canada v Zimbabwe
Vidarbha Cricket Association Ground, Nagpur
N/A
Tue Mar 1 14th match – Kenya v Sri Lanka
R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
N/A
Wed Mar 2 15th match – England v Ireland
M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore
N/A
Thu Mar 3 17th match – Canada v Pakistan
R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
N/A
Thu Mar 3 16th match – Netherlands v South Africa
Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali, Chandigarh
N/A
Fri Mar 4 19th match – Bangladesh v West Indies
Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur
N/A
Fri Mar 4 18th match – New Zealand v Zimbabwe
Sardar Patel Stadium, Motera, Ahmedabad
N/A
Sat Mar 5 20th match – Australia v Sri Lanka
R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
N/A
Sun Mar 6 21st match – India v Ireland
M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore
N/A
Sun Mar 6 22nd match – England v South Africa
MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai
N/A
Mon Mar 7 23rd match – Canada v Kenya
Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi
N/A
Tue Mar 8 24th match – New Zealand v Pakistan (Pallekele)
Venue TBC
N/A
Wed Mar 9 25th match – India v Netherlands
Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi
N/A
Thu Mar 10 26th match – Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe (Pallekele)
Venue TBC
N/A
Fri Mar 11 28th match – Bangladesh v England
Zohur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong
N/A
Fri Mar 11 27th match – Ireland v West Indies
Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali, Chandigarh
N/A
Sat Mar 12 29th match – India v South Africa
Vidarbha Cricket Association Ground, Nagpur
N/A
Sun Mar 13 30th match – Canada v New Zealand
Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
N/A
Sun Mar 13 31st match – Australia v Kenya
M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore
N/A
Mon Mar 14 33rd match – Bangladesh v Netherlands
Zohur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong
N/A
Mon Mar 14 32nd match – Pakistan v Zimbabwe (Pallekele)
Venue TBC
N/A
Tue Mar 15 34th match – Ireland v South Africa
Eden Gardens, Kolkata
N/A
Wed Mar 16 35th match – Australia v Canada
M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore
N/A
Thu Mar 17 36th match – England v West Indies
MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai
N/A
Fri Mar 18 37th match – New Zealand v Sri Lanka
Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
N/A
Fri Mar 18 38th match – Ireland v Netherlands
Eden Gardens, Kolkata
N/A
Sat Mar 19 40th match – Bangladesh v South Africa
Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur
N/A
Sat Mar 19 39th match – Australia v Pakistan
R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
N/A
Sun Mar 20 41st match – Kenya v Zimbabwe
Eden Gardens, Kolkata
N/A
Sun Mar 20 42nd match – India v West Indies
MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai
N/A
Wed Mar 23 Quarter Final – TBC v TBC
Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur
N/A
Thu Mar 24 Quarter Final – TBC v TBC
R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
N/A
Fri Mar 25 Quarter Final – TBC v TBC
Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur
N/A
Sat Mar 26 Quarter Final – TBC v TBC
Sardar Patel Stadium, Motera, Ahmedabad
N/A
Tue Mar 29 Semi Final – TBC v TBC
R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
N/A
Wed Mar 30 Semi Final – TBC v TBC
Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali, Chandigarh
N/A
Sat Apr 2 Final – TBC v TBC
Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Fixtures

Talk to Bill and others about their experiences raising bi-cultural Japanese-American kids.

One thought on “ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, Schedule, Fixtures

Comments are closed.

Comments are closed.